A strong community. With clear structures.

DMK is a community of 8,600 active dairy farmers and cooperative owners and around 7,200 company employees, making it one of the largest cooperative-based dairy companies in Europe. In this embodiment of a modern cooperative, the farmers identify with DMK and its strategic direction, and DMK’s employees identify with the work of the farmers. The farms are located in the German regions of Schleswig-Holstein, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Lower Saxony, Hamburg, Bremen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Brandenburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Saxony, Hessen, Thuringia and Rhineland-Palatinate.

The cooperative's managing bodies

Annual Assembly of representatives
The representatives are elected every five years. Each of them represents 25 members. The Annual Assembly elects the Supervisory Board of the cooperative and passes resolutions on changes to the articles of association. The Assembly also adopts the annual financial statements and decides on the appropriation of the year's net profits.
Advisory Board
The Advisory Board deliberates on and discusses all significant strategic decisions within DMK GmbH, the operational arm of the organisation, and the cooperative. Moreover, the Advisory Board promotes the exchange of information between members and the managing bodies and has the right to put forward candidates for appointments to the Board of Management of the cooperative and Supervisory Board.
Board of Management
The Board of Management of the cooperative is responsible for day-to-day activities and has independent responsibility for managing the cooperative.
Members of the Board of Management
  • Thomas Stürtz (Chairman) - Elbe-Weser region
  • Dirk Schröder (Deputy Chairman) - Mecklenburg-Vorpommern/Brandenburg region
  • Detlef Horstmann - Schleswig-Holstein region
  • Alfons Kerlfeld - Osnabrücker Land/Grafschaft Bentheim region
  • Matthias Klippel - Thuringia/Saxony-Anhalt region
  • Franz-Josef Krechtmann - Westfalen South-West region
  • Reiner Lübben - Weser-Ems region
  • Jörg Pape - Southern Lower Saxony/Hesse region
Supervisory Board
The Board of Management’s actions are monitored by the Supervisory Board.
Members of the Board of Management
Management representatives on the DMK eG Supervisory Board
  • Heinz Korte (Chairman)
  • Uwe Boye
  • Philipp Kowolik
  • Benedikt Langemeyer
  • Adolf Oehlmann
  • Frerk Osterndorff
Employee representatives on the DMK eG Supervisory Board

  • Dr. Herbert Grimberg (Deputy Chairman)
  • Dirk Baus
  • Udo Eckhoff
  • Melanie Mörchen
  • Matthias Schrader
  • Meyk Wendekamm